Something Awesome This Way Comes

Last night at 6pm I was scheduled to take the state exam to become licensed as a Master Esthetician. I finished school way back in December and hadn’t cracked a book since then. So yesterday I brought my old Milady’s text book to work, hoping for a slow day and a chance to do some review before the test. Fortunately for me it did turn out to be a slow day. Unfortunately for me, I was too stressed out to concentrate on reading and only read enough to remember the difference between a bacterial and a viral infection. Instead, I surfed the internet, drank a lot more Diet soda than I usually do, and finished off a bag of Twizzlers someone (I) had left in the drawer where we keep pens, pencils, extra name tags, erasers and Twizzlers (and sometimes chocolate).

In my procrastination efforts, I engaged the director of my work in a discussion about song lyrics and those that we’ve always mistaken. He told me how he used to think Van Morrison had a cyclops for a girlfriend (you know, the song “One-Eyed Girl”) and I mused over the song Let’s Go Crazy by Prince. I’d heard it on the way to work that morning and found it hilarious that all I could make out of the chorus was something about a purple banana. But, Shirley, he didn’t say “purple banana” in the song. I decided to do some very important research and found that he did indeed say purple banana.

“Let’s go crazy
Let’s get nuts
Let’s look 4 the purple banana
‘Til they put us in the truck, let’s go!”

Then I found that the song is not about sex, as I’ve always thought all Prince’s songs were. Here is what Wikipedia says:

“‘Let’s Go Crazy’ also works as a metaphor for the religious struggle against evil, with the “de-elevator” representing Satan.”

So, it’s NOT ABOUT SEX, people. Even with the reference to a PURPLE BANANA, Prince was being RELIGIOUS. So get your minds out of the gutter.

My mind set at ease with this new knowledge, I was ready for a new distraction. So I sat down at the computer once again, humming One-Eyed Girl, to google images of places I used to live or read strangers blogs when I saw something out the window. Clouds. They just looked like normal clouds, but it’s what they were doing that was so fascinating. They were literally racing up the mountain, heading east. I’ve watched clouds move before, but not like this. What a sight. Suddenly, our little canyon was rapidly filling up with white (not snow, clouds), like big white ghosts spilling in to haunt the mountainside (I know – worst metaphor ever). It was incredible to watch. I went to the other side of the spa for another view and it was even better. That side has an open view of the canyon and all I could see was white barrelling up the mountain. It was surreal. The windows were open and when I felt the cold air it was invigorating. I realized that winter was on its way. Awesome.

After work I went home and took some more preparations for the test (played Sea Battle on IM) then, stressed, left for the exam. I was a little concerned about it being a timed exam, but when I realized that there were 135 multiple choice questions and you had ONLY two-and-a-half hours to answer them, I felt a little relieved. So I answered the questions (guessed) the best I could and as I walked out of the testing room 45 minutes later, the “proctor” (which sounds like someone who should look like Dumbledor), a seventeen-year-old girl in jeans and a ponytail, handed me a notarized paper saying that I had passed with 84%. Not awesome, but good enough to get my license. w00t!

On the way home, I met some friends at Pei Wei. I ate three fortune cookies. In order, these were my three fortunes:

Success and wealth are in your fate.

Something wonderful is about to happen to you.

Success will be yours at home and in business.

You got that right. And I’m gonna keep looking for the purple banana, whatever it is, ’til they put me in the truck.

Published in: on September 6, 2007 at 8:38 am  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://specialkrispy.wordpress.com/2007/09/06/something-awesome-this-way-comes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hooray! I knew you could do it.

  2. YAY! Congratulations!!

  3. Good work!

  4. So happy for you and your test taking!

  5. *hugs*

  6. So get this. The other night YOU were in my dream, trying to convince me to give up all sugar. And I was like, I know I SHOULD… but you were being so pushy and saying you’d “help me” and come over and throw away anything not allowed in the house and I was trying to think of polite ways to UNinvite you. I woke up kind of pissed at you.

    Took me a minute before that turned pretty randomly hilarious. WHY YOU?!

  7. Yay! I’m so happy for you.


Leave a Reply

