I.Am.Impetus.

Tonight, Brent called me an impetus. This in itself is not completely blog-worthy. But coupled with the fact that a few days ago I got a text message also calling me an impetus makes it so. I’ve never in my life been called an impetus (to my face). Then two different people in one week’s time use it. Weird. It makes me feel like this.

Published in: on June 17, 2007 at 12:52 am  Comments (12)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://specialkrispy.wordpress.com/2007/06/17/iamimpetus/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I like that — Impetus. May I call you “Imp” or “Impie” for short? I’ve actually had a similar odd situation — I was called a “catalyst” by 2 different people this week. Although they mean similar things, “catalyst” feels a bit more negative to me. But at least it’s better than when one of my clients kept calling me “Gattaca” behind my back. I’ve never seen the movie, but I’m sure that the nickname wasn’t meant kindly.

  2. Gattaca is a decent movie. Maybe your client meant that you were completely biologically perfect?

  3. I’d like to think that, CWE! But he said it with a sneer, as in “Well, you should probably run that by Gattaca over there…I bet she’d have an opinion about it…” I chose to react to it by repeating my mom’s words of comfort from my childhood, “He’s just jealous.” 🙂

  4. Wenmei, no wonder we were best friends in high school. My mom used to tell me that everyone was “just jealous,” too. It didn’t take me long to learn that even though shallow comfort could be taken from that phrase, it didn’t work very well as a retort.

    And CWE, you have no idea about Wenmei’s perfect biological make-up.

  5. I.Am.Lame.

    I had to look up “Impetus”. Perhaps I’ve said too much.

  6. Are you sure they don’t both just suck at English and meant impish?

  7. Hm. I suppose we could ask them.

  8. impish: inclined to do slightly naughty things for fun; mischievous

    of course I don’t know the context of the conversation. Maybe they really did mean that Krispy is a force that moves things along (or moves them along more quickly). 😉

  9. Hm. All of the above.

  10. Oh, and they definitely don’t suck at English. In fact, both of them are linguistic geniuses in my book. I’d love to get either one of them across a Scrabble board (not what it sounds like).

  11. I find some good fiber to be pretty good for “moving things along”.

  12. […] was just A LOT, even for me, it was decided to just call it Krispy Home Evening (as Krispy was the impetus behind it all), Home Evening for short (because calling an event after myself, that I made up and […]


Leave a Reply

